top of page

Faculty Spotlight: Dr. Marie Guerraty, MD, PhD

Dr. Marie Guerraty is a physician-scientist who divides her time between clinical practice as a cardiologist and cardiac imager and basic research. She is an Assistant Professor of Medicine in Perelman School of Medicine and is launching her own lab investigating the coronary microvasculature.


YHF: Could you tell us a bit about your doctoral thesis training? What did you study and how did you become interested in the cardiovascular field?


MG: I received my PhD from the Department of Bioengineering in the Penn School of Engineering and Applied Sciences as part of the Medical Scientist Training Program. I did my dissertation with Dr. Peter F. Davies who is Professor of Pathology and director of the Institute for Medicine and Engineering. My project was focused on understanding the role of endothelial cells in early aortic valve sclerosis in vivo.


I chose to work with Peter even before I knew how interested I would be in cardiovascular research as a field. He struck me as an ideal mentor in terms of his commitment to training and his ability to balance giving trainees independence while helping to guide them when they needed help. He is also a pioneer in the field of endothelial biology, and his passion for vascular biology was contagious. I also loved cardiovascular physiology in medical school. The cardiovascular system, and the clinical practice of cardiology, is very quantitative and logical, and there are concrete interventions and treatments available.


YHF: You have completed your PhD and MD trainings at Penn and are now establishing a new lab here. What drew you to Penn and why did you decide to stay?


MG: Penn is such a wonderful and unique place, and the thing that drew me and then kept me here is the interdisciplinary and collaborative nature of the institution. Crossing disciplines and working with experts in other fields leads to more exciting science. There is no other place where the medical school and main hospital is so close to the engineering school, and the veterinary/nursing/law/business schools; there is a cyclotron in the middle of the Medical School campus minutes from where mouse, large animal, and human experiments are conducted. This physical proximity promotes scientific collaborations.



YHF: What are your fondest memories from your graduate training? Did you ever have an “epiphany” moment?


MG: My biggest epiphany moment during graduate training was when I realized that the challenges in making things happen and moving my project forward were part of the training. It wasn't a road block or a derailment. It was a key part of the curriculum.



YHF: Can you briefly describe the research in your lab?


MG: My lab is a basic-translational lab focused on studying the coronary microvasculature. We are most interested in understanding how developmental programs regulate the microvasculature in adults. We combine small animal models and functional imaging with cell and molecular biology to understand how the coronary microvasculature is regulated and how it becomes dysfunctional. We also tie in our work on cellular mechanisms with in vivo physiology and ultimately with health and disease in people. Coronary microvascular disease accounts for 30-50% of the burden of ischemia heart disease, but, unlike atherosclerosis, it's a relatively young field which makes it particularly exciting and timely.


YHF: What is your mentorship style?


MG: I see my role as a mentor to nurture curiosity and support trainees through the inevitable joys and challenges of doing science. I have benefited tremendously from mentors who have given me space to explore new ideas and have encouraged me to think creatively.


YHF: In your experience, what are important characteristics for students to thrive in graduate school?


MG: The most important characteristics for students to thrive in graduate school are patience and perseverance. It's not a coincidence that patience and perseverance are the also the most important characteristics needed for a scientist to thrive in science. It can be difficult to transition from a well-paved undergraduate training path with clear course work and testing requirements to a dissertation where the benchmarks are more abstract and progress is very non-linear. And a key part of patience is being comfortable with perpetual learning. I also try to model this. After so much training, I have learned a lot, which has served to make me even more aware of how little I know.


YHF: What is your advice for students progressing through their PhD or MD/PhD training?


MG: Enjoy the ride. You are not completing training and waiting for your life to start. Your life has started, and you should enjoy the challenges along with the successes. A failed experiment or a rejected paper is a time to rally with your mentor and colleagues, get support, regroup and try again. It is not an assessment of you as a person or a scientist.



YHF: What are your hobbies outside of the lab?


MG: I enjoy reading (and am eagerly awaiting Louise Penny's new book coming out in August), running, bike riding, going to the beach, and exploring new restaurant. My husband (whom I met in grad school at Penn!) and I have two little boys, and we've learned to blend our interests with things that they can enjoy with us.


YHF: What are your favorite summer activities?


MG: When I first moved to Philadelphia, it took me three years to realize how close Philadelphia is to the beach and how beautiful some of the nearby beaches are. Now we go whenever we get a chance for a short day trips or for a few nights. My other favorite summer activity is blueberry and strawberry picking followed by eating and baking with blueberries and strawberries. New Jersey is called the Garden State for good reason.



YHF: Are you interested in taking in rotation students and if so, what qualities are you seeking in the students?


MG: Yes! The most important quality is curiosity and eagerness to learn something new.



The Guerraty Lab is located in 11-167 South Perelman Tower. Any trainees interested in learning more about her work can contact her at marie.guerraty@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


bottom of page